New Year, Lots of Firsts – ‘Spiralizing’ Zucchini Noodles & Avocado-Miso Dressing

Standard

I bought this crazy thing called a ‘Spiralizer.’  Like everyone else I’m determined to eat cleaner and lose weight this year (I say as I eat a Reeses Peanut Butter Cup – seriously, I just did), so I went on a recipe hunt.  During my search I stumbled upon this fun blog called ‘Inspiralized.’  Ali, the genius blogger of Inspiralized uses this crazy contraption called a spiralizer to make noodles, mostly out of zucchini but she’s very versatile and provides so many delicious looking recipes so I wondered – how much does a thing like this cost?  I headed over to Amazon to check it out and found they were only $30! THIRTY DOLLARS!  My bar tab is usually more than that!  So with a couple clicks and free shipping using my Amazon Prime account my newest gadget was on it’s way.

Image

Arriving on Monday, I was VERY excited to try out my latest purchase and having a potluck at work on Wednesday I thought that would be a good time to give it a try.  I searched for an easy recipe I could use and found a fun recipe on a food blog called ‘Love & Lemons‘ for Zucchini Noodles & Avocado-Miso.  And the damn thing was vegan AND gluten-free.  I am neither of these things, for the record, but I do love and appreciate good food, so I was off to make my first vegan and gluten-free dish ever (by the way, I’m putting bacon and Parmesan in my dinner tonight; the gods of balance demand it).

Off to the store I went where come to find out,  I proceeded to purchase WAY more zucchini than I needed.  Seriously, I bought 18 zucchini’s and NO ONE needs this many.  This little contraption literally turns virtually the entire zucchini into pasta with the exception of a small core.  Next thing I know I was spiralizing.  I started with my ‘spaghetti’ like noodle for my potluck recipe, things got out of control, and next thing I know I’m switching blades and making ribbon cuts.  For the record, I really was way more exciting when I was in my 20s (sigh).  

Image

The recipe is pretty easy from here – once your noodles are done just add your ingredients (sliced almonds, edamame, green onions and lime juice) and then throw all the dressing ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth.  Pour over top and enjoy! (I don’t know why the color on this picture is so weird – I need to learn to take better food pics!)

Image

I linked to the original recipe, as well as the Love & Lemons blog above, but I will post what I did below because I can never stick to an original recipe to save my life.  A couple things to note

1. Be careful on the Ginger.  It’s powerful and a little will go a long way in the dressing.

2. I kept the dressing in a separate mason jar and put on as needed.  Your noodles and the dish as a whole will last longer – just like you would do with any other salad dressing!

3.  I’ll be very honest, I liked the dressing, but I almost think I would like a balsamic dressing better.  My taste buds are telling me a vinegar cut into the noodles would be good. 

Image

 

Zucchini Noodles & Avocado-Miso Salad


ZUCCHINI NOODLE TOSS:

2 medium zucchinis
1/2 cup chopped mango (or apple, pear, etc.)
1/2 cup edamame (shelled and blanched)*
1/4 cup sliced almonds
extra squeezes of lime and extra salt, if necessary

 

AVOCADO-MISO SAUCE:
1 avocado
1 lime zest and juice
1 small zucchini (about 1/2 cup or so)
1/2 tablespoon miso
to that recipe, I added these things:
1 tablespoon minced ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon ground cayenne
a little extra miso, add to taste (as you would salt)

 

METHOD:
I blended the dressing components together in my food processor until smooth.

I make my zucchini noodles with a spiralizer (Paderno World Cuisine Spiral Vegetable Slicer, $30 from Amazon).  You could also use a julienne peeler, they will be less curly and more straight.

Toss the noodles with as much or little sauce as you like. Taste and adjust seasonings (the sauce will become more diluted as you toss it with the noodles, so you may have to add some salt and pepper).

*Blanching Edamame – Boil water, then add salt, the Edamame, and boil for approximately 5-6 minutes.  Drain and shell the soybeans from their pod.

 

Leave a Reply

